Resources | Responsibility

Resources | Responsibility

Retiring The Flag


  • Understand the history of the flag.
  • Know who can dispose of a flag.
  • Know how to properly retire a flag.


The American flag was made by Betsy Ross and adopted on June 14, 1777, to represent the new union of the 13 original states. Those 13 original colonies were Delaware, Pennsylvania, New Jersey, Georgia, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Maryland, South Carolina, New Hampshire, Virginia, New York, North Carolina, and Rhode Island. It had 13 stripes, alternating red and white, and 13 white stars on a blue field. Today, the flag consists of 13 horizontal stripes, alternating with seven red and six white, as well as 50 white stars. The red symbolizes hardiness and valor, white symbolizes purity and innocence, and the blue represents vigilance, perseverance, and justice.


  • Look at the photos attached in the document below and choose which ones should be retired.
  • Discuss how you would retire a flag.
  • Locate your local community disposal boxes.
Download (PDF)

See other responsibility resources

See all activities and lesson plans available:

Back to all resources